EFBE Prüftechnik GmbH | Engineering for Bikes

EFBE facts.

More safety for bikes.

Since 1995, EFBE Prüftechnik GmbH has been developing new quality and safety standards for bikes and related test methods. Our team of engineers is highly experienced in the fields of bicycle and e-bike standards, test stand design, and control technology. Since 1996, EFBE has also been conducting bike tests on behalf of the bike industry – and since 2016 with our own wholly owned subsidiary in Taiwan, too.

EFBE sets standards.

Since 1985, EFBE’s founder, Manfred Otto, has contributed to the development of bicycle safety standard DIN 79100 by providing innovative test methods. Due to EFBE’s research and development work, test methods such as the «pedalling forces» frame test were incorporated into the former DIN 79100 standard. Since then, Marcus Schroeder has continued his work as member of the DIN standards committee. The European EPAC safety standard and ISO 4210 have also benefited from the work of our company. In collaboration with our customers and special interest magazines, existing test methods are undergoing a process of continuous development.

More facts, less fiction.

The technical evaluation of bicycles is still the realm of many myths and half-truths. This is why for many years now, EFBE has been pushing to inform the public about the fundamental aspects of bike (testing) technology in trade journals and discussion forums. We believe in proper, methodical and scientific procedures with validated, transparent test methods. Facts – not pseudo-science.

Requirements for modern bicycle testing technology.

Leading manufacturers of bicycles and components in Europe and Asia rely on EFBE for testing services – and increasingly on EFBE testing systems in their own labs. Over the past 20 years, EFBE has become the de facto industry standard, ensuring that western manufacturers deliver the necessary safety, and enhancing the credibility of Asian producers. In this respect we take some pride in the fact that that we not only sell services and products – we go much further by creating a common platform for quality and trust in the bicycle industry. The crucial points here are:

  • reproducible results,
  • transparent methodology and
  • practical requirements.

Materials test standards and requirements

EFBE Prüftechnik GmbH

Materials and test standards.

Different materials come with different strengths and weaknesses. Does bicycle testing need to consider this in order to uncover vulnerabilities and avoid problems in the field? When aluminium became widely used in the bicycle industry some 30 years ago and the first failures occurred, it immediately resulted in penalty tests for alloy components. One example was the handlebar test in ISO 4210, which prescribed almost 50% higher test loads for «non-ferrous» designs; another example was the impact test for forks, which was made 70% more demanding for aluminium constructions.

Similar things happen with fibre reinforced composites today. The current EN and ISO standards dictate a maximum increase of 20% for the peak deflection of composite frames and forks during fatigue testing. Elsewhere, we find specific test requirements for forks which have composite parts. Besides the fact that these are not the failure modes we see in our daily practice: We feel that test programs should not depend on the material. Why?

1. It’s not just the material that counts.

The durability of a fork is not only determined by its material strength, but by the overall design (wall thicknesses, cross-sections, materials, joining processes, thermal treatment, residual stresses etc.). It may make sense to evaluate cracks differently due to the material involved, but this plays no part in bicycle standards: Without regular inspections for such cracks, these cannot be accepted on bicycles anyway.

2. All are equal before the test.

The consumer ultimately does not mind what a component is made of. Each part has a function to fulfil, and it is only this function which needs to be tested. For good reason, a fundamental principle in safety standards is «functional requirements before design prescriptions». The tested specimen is to be treated as a «black box», which is subjected to defined requirements, but does not influence them.

3. The march of progress does not stop at standards.

It is in the very nature of standards that they follow technological progress. We do not know whether 2030’s bicycles will be made of nanotubes or baked from ceramics. We are sure however, that carbon fibre reinforced polymers will be yesterday’s news, that we will smile about our present-day fears and that new materials will bring their own strengths and weaknesses.

4. Test to improve – not to prevent.

If new materials indicate weaknesses which are not detected sufficiently with existing tests, the test programme must be expanded rapidly – but for all test objects, irrespective of the material and the production process. The bicycle industry is many years ahead of the automotive industry when it comes to the innovative use of materials and lightweight construction. We should not stand in the way of this innovative capability with delayed, knee-jerk reactions.

Prototypes in the test laboratory.

One of our business principles is to treat the test results of our partners as strictly confidential. At the same time we strive to operate an open lab and to avoid excessive secretiveness. In other words, visitors with specialist knowledge will readily be able to see how we perform tests and what is being tested. They may see broken test specimens from well-known brands, but we never disclose critical information such as the conditions under which the parts failed. And as everybody knows, everything has its breaking point … When commissioning testing of a prototype that must not be seen in public, the customer can include a short note to this effect on their test order. The specimen will then be kept under lock and key.

Overload: Impact or defined forces?

In EFBE TRI-TEST® overload tests, we have replaced the impact tests with tests that use defined forces. Why? Ultimately, impact testing with defined drop energy is a standard method for material testing, and crash testing of cars also uses defined (kinetic) energy.

There are two reasons for favouring defined forces for overload testing bicycle frames. First, the peak forces in impact testing depend not only on the rigidity of the tested component (which is as it should be), but also on the (limited) rigidity of the clamping device. It does not, for example, make sense to allow a fork impact test with the fork installed on the frame as an alternative to a test with rigidly clamped fork, as the peak forces that occur in each test can differ significantly. Forks that fail when clamped rigidly may easily survive if they are mounted on the frame.

Secondly, bicycles have a completely different rider-to-vehicle mass ratio to motor vehicles. In extreme situations, the forces acting on the component are limited by the fact that the rider has to absorb the decelerating forces that occur during extreme jumps or collisions with their arms and legs.

Permissible rider and total weight?

When looking at the fatigue behaviour of bicycle and e-bike components, the rider weight actually plays a minor role compared to

  • the rider‘s physical strength,
  • mileage,
  • road/track/trail surface condition,
  • suspension and, primarily
  • individual riding style.

A cyclist is more than just the biggest mass in the overall system – the rider is also the drive motor, damper and significantly influences the ride dynamics.

Nevertheless, the industry has to provide answers to questions for weight limitations, and also the standards will soon come with such limitations. Whilst EN 15194 probably covers up to a total weight of 120 kg, it is difficult to extract more than 100 kg from ISO 4210.

The EFBE TRI-TEST® is, by default, based on a total weight of 120 kg for conventional bikes, 130 kg for EPAC and 135 kg for S-pedelec. The TRI-TEST can, however, easily be scaled and adjusted to increased total weights. Transport and cargo bikes are always assessed individually and are tested with customised test programs.

EFBE Prüftechnik GmbH

EFBE Prüftechnik GmbH | Engineering for Bikes

Wissenswertes über EFBE

Mehr Sicherheit für Fahrräder

Die EFBE Prüftechnik GmbH entwickelt seit 1995 neue Qualitäts- und Sicherheitsstandards für Fahrräder und die zugehörige Prüftechnik. Unser Team aus Ingenieuren verfügt über einschlägige Erfahrungen in den Bereichen Fahrradnormung, Prüfstandskonstruktion und Mess- und Regeltechnik. Seit 1996 führt EFBE auch Fahrradprüfungen im Auftrag der Industrie durch – und seit 2016 auch in Taiwan.

EFBE setzt Standards.

Bereits 1986 war EFBE-Gründer Manfred Otto an der Weiterentwicklung der Fahrradsicherheitsnorm DIN 79100 durch innovative Prüfmethoden beteiligt. Aufgrund von Forschungsarbeiten und Entwicklungen der EFBE GmbH wurden neue Prüfmethoden, wie zum Beispiel die Wiegetritt-Rahmenprüfung, in die damalige DIN 79100 aufgenommen – eine Arbeit, die Marcus Schröder als Mitarbeiter des Normenausschusses fortsetzt. Auch die europäischen Fahrrad- und E-Bike-Sicherheitsnormen sowie die internationale ISO 4210 haben von der Arbeit unserer Firma profitiert. In Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Kunden und Special Interest Magazinen werden bestehende Prüfverfahren ständig weiterentwickelt.

Know-how statt Mythen

Bei der technischen Bewertung von Fahrrädern herrschen immer noch viele Mythen und Halbwahrheiten. Aus diesem Grund informieren wir seit vielen Jahren in Fachzeitschriften und Diskussionen offensiv über die Grundlagen der Fahrrad-(Prüf-)Technik. Wir glauben an methodisch sauberes, wissenschaftliches Vorgehen und validierte, transparente Prüfverfahren – Fakten statt Pseudowissenschaft.

Anforderungen an zeitgemäße Fahrradprüftechnik

Führende Fahrrad- und Komponentenhersteller in Europa und Asien setzen auf EFBE-Prüfungen – und in zunehmenden Maße auf EFBE-Prüfstände in ihren Labors. In 20 Jahren ist EFBE zu einem de facto Industriestandard geworden, ein Standard, der den westlichen Herstellern die nötige Sicherheit gibt – und den asiatischen Produzenten die nötige Glaubwürdigkeit. Insofern sind wir ein bisschen stolz, dass wir nicht nur Dienstleistungen und Maschinen verkaufen, sondern, mehr noch, eine gemeinsame Plattform für Qualität und Vertrauen in der Fahrradindustrie schaffen. Die entscheidenden Punkte hierfür sind

  • reproduzierbare Ergebnisse,
  • transparente Methoden und
  • praxisgerechte Anforderungen.

Wissenswertes zu Materialien und Prüfstandards

EFBE Prüftechnik GmbH

Wissenswertes zu Materialien und Prüfstandards

Unterschiedliche Werkstoffe haben unterschiedliche Stärken und Schwächen. Müssen Fahrradprüfungen das berücksichtigen, um Schwachstellen aufzudecken und Schäden im Feld zu vermeiden? Als Aluminium vor 30 Jahren als neues Material auf breiter Basis in der Fahrradwelt Einzug hielt und es zu ersten Schäden kam, führte dies sofort zu Strafprüfungen für Leichtmetallkomponenten. Ein Beispiel war die Lenkerprüfung in der alten ISO 4210, die für »Nicht-Eisen-Konstruktionen« fast 50% höhere Prüfkräfte vorsah, ein anderes die Impactprüfung für Gabeln, die bei Alu-Konstruktionen um mehr als 70% verschärft wurde.

Ähnliches gilt heute für Faserverbundwerkstoffe: Die geltenden EN- und ISO-Normen schreiben vor, dass z.B. bei der Ermüdungsprüfung an Rahmen aus Kohlenstofffasern bestimmte Spitzendurchbiegungswerte eingehalten werden müssen. An anderer Stelle finden wir spezielle Prüfanforderungen an Gabeln, die CFK-Elemente enthalten. Abgesehen davon, dass dies nicht die Werkstoffprobleme sind, die wir täglich beobachten: Wir sind der Auffassung, dass Prüfvorschriften nicht materialabhängig sein sollen.

1. Es ist nicht allein das Material, was zählt.

Die Werkstofffestigkeit einer Gabel beeinflusst deren Haltbarkeit nicht allein, sondern die Gesamtkonstruktion (Wanddicken, Querschnitte, Werkstoffe, Fügeverfahren, Wärmebehandlung, Eigenspannungen etc.). Zwar kann die Bewertung eines aufgetretenen Risses werkstoffabhängig sein, für Fahrradnormen spielt dies jedoch keine Rolle: ohne regelmäßige Rissinspektion wird das Auftreten von Rissen grundsätzlich nicht akzeptiert.

2. Vor der Prüfung sind alle gleich.

Dem Verbraucher kann es in letzter Konsequenz gleichgültig sein, aus welchen Materialien ein Bauteil besteht. Jedes Teil hat eine Funktion zu erfüllen, und nur diese Funktion ist es, die es zu prüfen gilt. Ein Grundsatz der Sicherheitsnormung lautet nicht umsonst: Funktionsanforderungen vor Konstruktionsvorgaben. Der Prüfling ist als Black Box zu betrachten, die definierten Anforderungen ausgesetzt wird, diese aber nicht beeinflusst.

3. Der Fortschritt macht auch vor Normen nicht halt.

Es liegt in der Natur von Normen, dass sie dem technischen Fortschritt folgen. Wir wissen nicht, ob die Fahrräder des Jahrgangs 2030 aus Nanotubes oder Keramik gebacken werden. Wir sind uns aber sicher, dass CFK dann ein alter Hut sein wird, wir über die heutigen Angstkriterien schmunzeln werden und die neuen Materialien neue Stärken und Schwächen mit sich bringen werden.

4. Prüfen, um zu verbessern – nicht um zu verhindern.

Sollten solche neuen Werkstoffe Schwächen zeigen, die mit bestehenden Prüfungen nicht hinreichend aufgezeigt werden, dann muss das Prüfprogramm rasch erweitert werden – aber für alle Prüflinge, ungeachtet des Werkstoffs und des Fertigungsverfahrens. Die Fahrradindustrie ist der Automobilindustrie um Jahre voraus, was innovativen Materialeinsatz und Leichtbau angeht. Wir sollten dieser Innovationsfähigkeit nicht mit verspäteten Schreckreaktionen im Wege stehen.

Erlkönige im Prüflabor

Es gehört zu unseren Geschäftsprinzipien, dass Prüfergebnisse unserer Partner streng vertraulich behandelt werden. Gleichzeitig bemühen wir uns aber auch, ein Open Lab zu betreiben statt Geheimniskrämerei. Das heißt, fachkundige Besucher sehen, wie geprüft wird und was geprüft wird. Man findet hier möglicherweise zerbrochene Prüflinge der renommiertesten Marken, aber man erhält niemals die entscheidende Information, bei welcher Belastung das Versagen erfolgte. Und kaputt bekommt man bekanntlich alles … Bei Erlkönigen, die nicht öffentlich gezeigt werden dürfen, kann der Auftraggeber eine kurze Notiz auf dem Prüfauftrag machen. In diesem Fall wird der Prüfling unter Verschluss gehalten.

Überlast: Impact oder definierte Kräfte?

Die EFBE TRI-TEST®-Überlastprüfungen werden nicht als Impactversuch, sondern mit definierten Kräften durchgeführt – warum? Der Impactversuch mit definierter Fallenergie ist schließlich als Kerbschlagversuch bei Werkstoffprüfungen Standard. Und auch bei den Crash-Versuchen im Automobilbereich wird mit definierter (kinetischer) Energie gearbeitet.

Es sind zwei Gründe, die dafür sprechen, die Überlastversuche beim Fahrrad mit definierten Kräften durchzuführen: Erstens sind die Maximalkräfte beim Impactversuch nicht nur von der Steifigkeit des geprüften Bauteils abhängig (was erwünscht ist!), sondern u.a. auch von der (endlichen) Steifigkeit der Einspannung. So ist es z.B. nicht korrekt, wenn nach DIN EN 14766 die Gabel-Stoßprüfung 4.9.5.1 (in fester Einspannung) alternativ auch nach 4.8.2 (im Rahmen eingebaut) durchgeführt werden kann. Die auftretenden Maximalkräfte können sich gravierend unterscheiden. Gabeln, die bei fester Einspannung versagen, können im Rahmen eingebaut ohne weiteres bestehen.

Zweitens ist das Massenverhältnis Fahrer/Fahrzeug völlig anders als beim Kraftfahrzeug. In Extremsituationen sind die Kräfte auf das Bauteil dadurch begrenzt, dass der Fahrer die Verzögerungskräfte, die bei extremen Sprüngen oder Kollisionen auftreten, mit seinen Beinen und Armen durchstehen muss.

Zulässiges Fahrer- und Gesamtgewicht?

Beim Ermüdungsverhalten von Fahrradbauteilen spielt das Fahrergewicht neben

  • der körperlichen Leistungsfähigkeit
  • der km-Fahrleistung
  • der Fahrbahnbeschaffenheit
  • dem Federungssystem und
  • dem individuellen Fahrstil

eine eher untergeordnete Rolle. Ein Radfahrer ist mehr als nur die größte Masse im Gesamtsystem – er ist auch Antriebsmotor, Dämpfer und greift ganz erheblich aktiv in die Fahrdynamik ein. Nichtsdestotrotz muss sich die Industrie der Frage nach einer Gewichtsbeschränkung stellen, und auch die Normen werden solche Einschränkungen bald beinhalten. Während die EN 15194 vermutlich bis 120 kg abdeckt, ist aus der ISO 4210 nur mit Schwierigkeiten mehr als 100 kg herauszulesen.

Der EFBE TRI-TEST® basiert auf einem Gesamtgewicht von 120 kg für konventionelle Fahrräder, 130 kg für EPAC und 135 kg bei S-Pedelec, kann aber an ein erhöhtes Gesamtgewicht angepasst und skaliert werden. Für Transport- und Lastenräder erfolgt in jedem Fall eine individualisierte Anpassung der entsprechenden Prüfkräfte.

EFBE Prüftechnik GmbH