EFBE Prüftechnik GmbH | Engineering for Bikes

EFBE TRI-TEST. The ultimate reference test.

The TRI-TEST® is EFBE’s proprietary development, which goes way beyond the established national and international standards and reflects the specific challenges faced by modern bikes. With its three modules – fatigue tests, maximum load tests and overload tests – in various load cases, it provides a time-lapse simulation of the stresses throughout a bike’s entire life. A frame, for example, has to undergo up to eight individual test stages before it can be awarded the EFBE TRI-TEST® seal.

Testing beyond the standards.

Product development in the industry outpaces the development of new standards. In the e-bike market, new products emerge which have little similarities with EN 15194 from 2017; modern high-end sports bikes diversify to a degree of specialisation that the existing standards provide very few answers for. ISO 4210 only knows one type of MTB, and EN 15194 recognises no more than one type of EPAC. EFBE offer specific test programs and certification for, amongst others, XC, AM, Trail, Enduro and Downhill bikes – and also their e-bike variants.

Usage classification ASTM F2043-13

Condition 1

Operation on regular paved surface, wheels maintain ground contact at all times, no jumps/drops. Examples: Road bike, time trial and triathlon bike.

Condition 2

Operation on paved, unpaved and gravel roads and trails with moderate grades. Wheels may occasionally lose ground contact, maximum height for jumps/drops: 15 cm. Examples: City, trekking, gravel, cyclocross and cargo bikes.

Condition 3

Operation including conditions 1 and 2 as well as rough trails, rough unpaved roads, rough terrain and trails which require technical skills. Jumps and drops up to 60 cm. Examples: Cross-Country and Marathon MTB.

Condition 4

Operation including conditions 1 to 3 as well as downhill grades on rough trails which require advanced technical riding skills, at speeds less than 40 km/h. Jumps and drops up to 120 cm. Examples: All-Mountain, Trail MTB.

Condition 5

Operation including conditions 1 to 4 as well as extreme jumps, downhill rides at extreme grades and at speeds exceeding 40 km/h. Jumps and drops of more than 120 cm. Examples: Downhill, Freeride, Dirt MTB.

Test modules

Scalability of maximum total weight.

The total weight in cycling increases due to trends like bikepacking, higher vehicle weights for e-bikes, but also demographic and anthropometric developments. The EFBE TRI-TEST® is scalable and can also reflect higher weights than the ones assumed in the existing standards.

Test stages – overview.

1. Fatigue test. The time machine for materials.

Fatigue damage is a particularly insidious problem because, under certain circumstances, fatigue fractures may only appear after years of use and can lead to sudden failure and potentially serious accidents. The EFBE fatigue test acts as a kind of time lapse and simulates years of usage within a short period of time. These tests investigate whether a component can withstand frequent intensive use over a long period of time. They therefore deliver important findings about material quality and dimensioning.

2. Maximum load test. Reality in the test laboratory.

The EFBE test at maximum load ensures you are always on the safe side, even at maximum permissible load. For carbon materials in particular, but also high-tensile alloys, it is frequently the singular peak loads that are the decisive factor governing component failure – and serious consequential damage. We test the component under defined static load conditions and determine the permanent deformation. This is a key condition for certifying the safety of your product under normal usage conditions.

3. Overload test. The no-compromise strength test.

What people do with their bikes nowadays often has nothing to do with how it was before. Think of downhill, gravity and dirt – then add E-MTB and other often fast-paced forms of mobility on two wheels. We investigate how much stress your parts can really cope with – and test whether a component can withstand short-term overload at critical limits without failing catastrophically. Ultimately, everything will fail – but it is more important that your product fails benignly, even under «conditions of foreseeable (mis)use». The decisive factor here is whether a crack, which can never be completely ruled out, becomes a warranty issue – or a case for your lawyer.

4. Stiffness test. What customers and testers want to know.

We test how much a component gives (flexes) elastically under load. We subject the component to a specified load and then determine its deformation. The results of non-destructive rigidity tests are regarded as an indicator of the stability and efficiency of a bicycle frame. They can uncover variations within models and detect damage to carbon components.

EFBE Prüftechnik GmbH | Engineering for Bikes

EFBE TRI-TEST. Die ultimative Referenzprüfung.

Der EFBE TRI-TEST® ist eine Eigenentwicklung, die sich an der harten Praxis moderner Bikes orientiert und über die Normprüfung weit hinaus geht. Mit den drei Bausteinen Ermüdungsprüfung, Maximallastprüfung und Überlastprüfung wird in unterschiedlichen Lastfällen die Schädigung eines ganzen Fahrradlebens im Zeitraffer nachgebildet. Ein Rahmen zum Beispiel muss bis zu acht Einzellastfälle und -prüfungen erfolgreich durchlaufen, um mit dem EFBE TRI-TEST®-Prüfsiegel veredelt zu werden.

Prüfung über die Normen hinaus

Die technische Produkt-Entwicklung in der Industrie ist schneller als die Entwicklung neuer Normen. Im E-Bike Bereich entstehen Zweiräder, die völlig andere Einsatzbereiche erklimmen, als es die Norm von 2017 vorsieht, im sportlichen Bereich diversifiziert sich der Einsatzbereich der Räder so weit auf, dass die Spanne vom extrem leichten Rennrad bis zum Gravitybike reicht, an die man nicht die gleichen Testnormen anlegen kann. Die ISO 4210-Norm kennt zum Beispiel nur eine Art von Mountainbike, und die aktuelle EN 15194 nur eine Art von EPAC. EFBE hat individualisierte Prüfprogramme und Zertifizierungen für XC, All-Mountain, Trailbikes, Downhillbikes und auch die jeweilige E-Bike Variante entwickelt.

Nutzungsklassen ASTM F2043-13

Kategorie 1

Nutzung auf befestigten Wegen, Räder verlieren niemals den Kontakt zur Fahrbahn, keine Sprünge. Beispiele: Rennrad, Triathlon- und Zeitfahrrad.

Kategorie 2

Nutzung auf Straßen, befestigten Wegen sowie auf Feldwegen und unbefestigten Wegstrecken. Räder können gelegentlich den Bodenkontakt verlieren, maximale Höhe für Sprünge/Drops = 15 cm. Beispiele: City- und Trekkingbikes, Querfeldein- und Gravelbikes, Cargobikes.

Kategorie 3

Nutzung gemäß Kategorie 1 und 2, zusätzlich unbefestigtes und raues Gelände, die eine entsprechend fortgeschrittene Fahrtechnik voraussetzen. Sprunghöhe und Drops bis zu 60 cm. Beispiele: Cross-Country und Marathon MTB.

Kategorie 4

Nutzung gemäß Kategorie 1, 2 und 3, in rauem und verblockten Gelände, das sehr fortgeschrittene Fahrtechnik voraussetzt, und mit Bergabfahrten bei Geschwindigkeiten bis 40 km/h. Sprunghöhe und Drops bis zu 120 cm. Beispiele: All-Mountain und Trail MTB.

Kategorie 5

Nutzung gemäß der Kategorien 1 bis 4, zusätzlich mit extremen Sprüngen über 120 cm und Bergabfahrten mit mehr als 40 km/h. Beispiele: Downhill, Freeride, Dirt Bikes.

Weiter zu den Einzelbestandteilen der Prüfung

EFBE Prüftechnik GmbH

Skalierbarkeit zulässiges Systemgewicht.

Das Systemgewicht beim Radfahren steigt aufgrund neuer Trends wie Bikepacking, dem höheren Eigengewicht der E-Bikes und nicht zuletzt demografischer und anthropometrischer Entwicklungen. Der EFBE TRI-TEST® ist skalierbar und kann auch höhere Werte als die Normannahmen sicher abbilden.

Einzelprüfverfahren im Überblick.

1. Ermüdungsprüfungen. Die Zeitmaschine für das Material.

Ermüdungsschäden sind besonders heimtückisch, da sie unter Umständen erst nach jahrelangem Gebrauch auftreten und mit plötzlichem Versagen schwere Unfälle verursachen können. Die EFBE-Ermüdungsprüfung fungiert wie ein Zeitraffer und simuliert den jahrelangen Gebrauch in kürzester Zeit. Bei diesen Tests wird untersucht, ob ein Bauteil häufigem, intensivem Gebrauch auf Dauer gewachsen ist. So erhalten Sie wichtige Erkenntnisse über Materialqualitäten und Dimensionierungen.

2. Prüfungen mit Maximallast. Die Realität im Prüflabor.

Die EFBE-Prüfung mit Maximallast gewährleistet, dass Sie sich auch bei maximal zulässiger Belastung auf der sicheren Seite befinden. Gerade bei Carbon, aber auch hochfesten metallischen Werkstoffen sind es vielfach singuläre Spitzenlasten, die über Bauteilversagen und schwere Folgeschäden entscheiden. Dazu wird das Bauteil in definierten Lastfällen statisch geprüft und die bleibende Verformung ermittelt. Eine wichtige Voraussetzung, um die Sicherheit Ihres Produkts bei bestimmungsgemäßen Gebrauch nachzuweisen.

3. Überlastprüfungen. Der unbestechliche Härtetest.

Was heutzutage mit Fahrrädern veranstaltet wird, hat häufig wenig damit zu tun, wie es früher einmal war – Stichworte Downhill, Gravity, Dirt, aber auch E-MTB und andere, teils schnelllebige Arten der Fortbewegung auf zwei Rädern. Wir prüfen, was Ihre Teile wirklich aushalten und testen, ob ein Bauteil einer kurzzeitigen Überlastung im Grenzbereich widersteht, ohne vollständig zu versagen. Irgendwann geht alles kaputt – wichtiger dabei ist, dass Ihr Produkt auch bei »vorhersehbarem (Fehl-)Gebrauch« gutmütig versagt. Hier entscheidet sich, ob ein nie ganz auszuschließender Riss ein Garantiefall wird – oder ein Fall für Ihren Anwalt.

4. Steifigkeitsmessungen. Was Kunden und Tester wissen wollen.

Wir prüfen, wie stark ein Bauteil unter Belastung elastisch nachgibt (»flext«). Dazu wird das Bauteil in definierter Weise belastet und gleichzeitig die Verformung ermittelt. Die Ergebnisse der nicht-zerstörenden Steifigkeitsmessungen gelten als Indikator für die Fahrstabilität und Effizienz eines Fahrradrahmens, können Serienstreuungen aufdecken und Schäden an Carbon-Bauteilen identifizieren.

EFBE Prüftechnik GmbH